2018 Lucie Technical Awards Winners Unveiled at NYC Gala

2018 Lucie Technical Awards Winners Unveiled at NYC Gala


New York City, NY—The 4th Annual Lucie Technical Awards ceremony was preceded by a festive cocktail party at the Javits Center. The event was on the evening of the first day of PhotoPlus Expo 2018.

The gala was a concrete manifestation of the Lucie Foundation’s primary missions. And that is to honor master photographers, discover and cultivate emerging talent, and promote the appreciation of photography worldwide. The 4th Annual Lucie Technical Awards reception reflected that spirit. All inclusive, the Lucie Technical Awards honor the large and small companies as well as the individuals who have advanced the photographic industry in a given year.

Julieanne Kost (center) digital imaging evangelist, director, Adobe Systems, winner of the 1st Chuck Westfall Technical Education Award with (L-R) Scott Heath, presenter Lou Desiderio, Ying and Anna Westfall © Robert Leslie

The well-attended event was also a testament to the empathy and respect that unites all members of the imaging industry; even as they compete fiercely in this magnificent, rapidly changing, ever-challenging field. Equally commendable was the efficiency with which a huge number of awards were presented.

Hossein Farmani, founder and chairman of the Lucie Technical Awards, hosted the ceremony along with Lauren Wendle, president of the Lucie Foundation, and David Schloss, vice president, Content, for PixelShift. Schloss introduced the presenters with humor and concision.

Justin Stailey of Fujifilm, winner for Best Instant Camera

Moreover, acceptance speeches seldom ran more than two sentences, and the entire event was over in little more than an hour. Good job! The prestigious event is sponsored by the Imaging Alliance, an organization representing diverse participants in the imaging community.

“This evening we announced the 28 winners of the coveted Lucie Technical Awards from a roster of 152 finalists representing 64 individual companies,” said Farmani. “Our jury of experts chose these winners as the most innovative additions to the photographic world’s toolbox.

Rob Altman of Canon, winner for Best Telephoto Prime Lens

Lauren Wendle added, “It is our privilege to honor these technological and creative forces who add so much to the creative endeavors of those in the photographic field. The Lucie Foundation congratulates all of the nominees, and tonight, the winners of the 4th Annual Lucie Technical Awards.”

Here are those products selected as best in their category for the 2018 Lucie Technical Awards.

   4th Annual Lucie Technical Awards Winners

Dan Unger of Panasonic, winner of the Best Small-Format Camera

Best Cameras

360 Camera: Insta360 Pro 2 Action Camera: GoPro Hero
Camera Drone: DJI Mavic 2 Pro
Fixed-Lens Camera: Sony Cyber-shot RX100 VI
Instant Camera: Fujifilm Instax Square SQ6
Small-Format Camera System: Panasonic Lumix G9 Pro
Full-Frame Camera System: Sony a7R III
Medium-Format Camera System: Phase One IQ4 150MP

Rick Booth of Sigma, winner of Best Wide-Angle Zoom and Best Special Purpose Lens

Best Lenses

Wide-Angle Prime: Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 17mm f/1.2 Pro
Standard Prime: Rokinon SP50mm f/1.2
Telephoto Prime: Canon EF 85mm f/1.4 L
Wide-Angle Zoom: Sigma 14–24mm f/2.8 DG HSM Art
Medium Range Zoom: Tamron 28–75mm f/2.8 Di III RXD
Telephoto Zoom: Nikon AF-S Nikkor 180–400mm f/4E TC1.4 FL ED VR
Special Purpose: Sigma 70mm f/2.8 DG Macro Art
Medium-Format: Hasselblad XCD 120mm f/3,5 Macro

Best Accessories

Gregg Maniaci of Tamron USA, winner of Best Medium Range Zoom Lens

Camera Bag: Vanguard Alta Fly 55T Trolley Backpack
Speedlight: Profoto A1
Tripod: Manfrotto Befree Advanced Travel Carbon Fiber
Industrial Design: Gitzo Fluid Gimbal Head
Continuous Light Source: Westcott Solix
Bicolor Light Source: Fotodiox Pro Factor Radius 3–3′x2′
Tricolor + Light Source: Luxli Cello
Light Modifier: Westcott Rapid Box Switch System
Photo Editing Software: Adobe Lightroom CC
Software Plug-in: Excire Search Pro
Backup Solution: SanDisk Extreme Portable SDS-SDE60-1T00-G25
Memory Card: ProGrade Digital CFast 2

Lindsay Silverman of Nikon, winner of Best Telephoto Zoom Lens

Chuck Westfall Technical Education Award

In addition to all the product awards, a special award was given for the first time in honor of the late, great Chuck Westfall. He was a veteran Canon technical guru as well as a guiding light. Westfall was one of the most knowledgeable, empathetic as well as compassionate people in the imaging industry.

His longtime friend and traveling companion, Lou Desiderio, delivered a heartfelt tribute to him before presenting the award to its very first, and eminently deserving, winner. The 2018 honoree of the Chuck Westfall Technical Education Award is Julieanne Kost, digital imaging evangelist and director of Adobe Systems.

Photos: © Robert Leslie