2022 Lucie Technical Awards Winners

2022 Lucie Technical Awards Winners

2022 Lucie Technical Award Banner

Los Angeles, CA—The Lucie Foundation unveiled the winners of its 2022 Lucie Technical Awards. The awards, a sister program of the Lucie Awards, honor large and small companies, as well as the individuals, who advanced the photographic industry in a given year. The awards encompass cameras, lenses, lighting as well as a host of accessories, including software and storage.

Following are the 7th Annual Lucie Technical Awards winners in each category, as well as the honorable mention products.

2022 Lucie Technical Awards Winners

Camera of the Year 2022/2023: Nikon Z 9
Innovation of the year 2022: Tie

Sony Two-Layer Transistor Pixel CMOS Sensor

Atomos Sapphire 8K Global Shutter Sensor

2022 Lucie Technical Awards-8th-retailers-choice-awards-Nikon-Z-9_w24-70_2.8_fronttop
Nikon Z 9
Best Large Sensor Camera: Nikon Z 9

Sony Alpha 7R V

Canon EOS R6 Mark II

Best Small Sensor Camera: Fujifilm X-H2S

Fujifilm X-H2

OM System OM-1

Best Camera Bag: Gura Gear Kiboko City Commuter

NYA-EVO Fjord series

Moment Long Weekend

Best Camera Accessory: SanDisk Professional Pro-G40 SSD

Haukland 7in1 Photography Jacket

SanDisk Extreme Pro microSDXC UHS-I and SanDisk Extreme Pro SDXC UHS-I cards

Best Wide-Angle Prime Lens: Sigma 20mm f/2 DG DN Contemporary
2022 tipa world awards Sigma-20mm-F2-DG-DN-Contemporary–w-Hood
Sigma 20mm F/2 DG DN Contemporary

Sigma 20mm f/1.4 DG DN Art

Leica Summilux-M 35mm f/1.4 Asph FLE

Best Standard Prime Lens: Hasselblad XCD 2,5/55V

Nikon Nikkor Z 28mm f/2.8

Fujifilm XF56mm f/1.2 R WR

Best Telephoto Prime Lens: Nikon Nikkor Z 400mm f/2.8 TC VR S

Nikon Nikkor Z 600mm f/4 TC VR S

Canon EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM

Best Wide-Angle Zoom Lens: Sony FE PZ 16–35mm f/4 G
2022 Lucie Techncal awards-EISA-AWARDS-2022-Sony-FE-PZ-16-35mm-F4-G-left
Sony FE PZ 16–35mm f/4 G

Nikon Nikkor Z 17–28mm f/2.8

Nikon Nikkor Z 28–75mm f/2.8

Best Standard Zoom Lens: Sony FE 24-70mm f/2.8 GM II

Tamron 17–70mm f/2.8 Di III-A RXD

Tamron 20–40mm f/2.8 Di III VXD

Best Telephoto Zoom Lens: Nikon Nikkor Z 100–400mm f/4.5–5.6 VR S

Tamron 150–500mm f/5–6.7 Di III VC VXD for Fujifilm X Mount

Tamron 50–400mm f/4.5–6.3 Di III VC VXD

Best Special Purpose Lens: Venus Optics Laowa 20mm f/4 Zero-D Shift

Venus Optics Laowa Argus 18mm f/0.95 MFT APO

Venus Optics Laowa 24mm T14 2X PeriProbe

Best Constant Light Source: SmallRig RC220

Westcott L60-B

Rotolight Neo 3 Pro

Best Strobe Light Source: Elinchrom Five
Elinchrom Five

Profoto A2

Adaptalux Lighting Studio

Best Photo-Editing Software: Adobe Photoshop

Capture One Pro 23

Affinity Photo 2

Best Software Plug-in: Adobe Camera to Cloud Powered by Frame.io

Bori FX Optics 2022

Radiant Photo

Best Video-Editing Software: Adobe Premiere Pro

Blackmagic Design DaVinci Resolve 18

Topaz Labs Video AI

2022 Chuck Westfall Award Winner

Ibarionex Perello is a photographer, writer and educator with more than 25 years of experience in the photographic industry. He is also the producer and host of The Candid Frame: A Photography Podcast. In production since 2006, the show features the world’s best-established as well as emerging photographers.

Moreover, it has featured conversations with Mary Ellen Mark, Eli Reed, Mona Kuhn, Matthew Jordan Smith, Joel Meyerowitz, Sheila Pree Bright, Dan Winters, and hundreds of others.

Ibarionex Perello

Along with hundreds of articles for magazines, including Digital Photo Pro, Outdoor Photographer, Photoshop User magazine, and others, Perello has authored half a dozen books on photography. They include Chasing the Light: Improving Your Photography with Available Light and Making Photographs: Developing a Personal Visual Workflow.

In addition, Perello has served as an educator and adjunct professor at the Art Center College of Design, Los Angeles Center of Photography, and Nobechi Creative. He is also a special projects photographer at the Huntington Library, Art Museum and Botanical Gardens.

Lucie Technical Awards Process

The Lucie Tech Awards advisory board puts together the categories through the direction of Jaron Schneider, a respected technical editor. The board is comprised of technical editors from esteemed magazines, websites and YouTube channels. They reach out to manufacturers, to solicit up to two products per category per company to be nominated.

Each category has a minimum of three and maximum of five nominations. Once all manufacturers have submitted their products, the LTA board of experts works to supplement any missing products and provide their own suggestions for nominations.