2022 Sony World Photography Awards National Winners

2022 Sony World Photography Awards National Winners


San Diego, CA—The World Photography Organization (WPO) revealed the National Awards winners of the 2022 Sony World Photography Awards. The National Awards program is an initiative set up by the WPO as well as Sony to support local photographic communities around the world. In fact, this year 61 countries took part.

In addition, photographers submitted more than 340,000 images from 211 territories to the Sony World Photography Awards 2022. Moreover, 170,000+ were entered to the Open competition (from which National Awards winner are selected).

2022 Sony World Photography National Awards

Furthermore, the Latin America National Awards initiative was new this year. Established by the WPO and Sony Latin America, this new format shines a spotlight on the region’s photographic community. What’s more, the Latin American National Awards looks at talent from across Central America, South America and Mexico. Subsequently, it rewards first, second and third place as well as a short list of six photographers.

© Matjaž Šimic, Slovenia, Wild Horses, Winner, National Awards, Natural World & Wildlife, 2022 Sony World Photography Awards

All National Awards winners receive Sony digital imaging equipment. They are also included in the Sony World Photography Awards exhibition and book.

The WPO will announce the overall winners in the Student, Youth, Open and Professional competitions of the 2022 Sony World Photography Awards on April 12, 2022.

2022 National Awards Winners 

Following are the 2022 Sony World Photography National Awards winners by country.

Austria – Sonja Ivancsics Bangladesh – Kazi Arifuzzaman Belgium – Mathis Vandermeeren Bulgaria – Minko Mihaylov Cambodia – Sean Channal Croatia – Majda Pavlekovic

Czech Republic – Martina Dimunova Denmark – Sussi Charlotte Alminde Egypt – Sherif Salem

Estonia – Raido Nurk Finland – Damon Beckford France – Patrick Bosc

© Jenny Zhao, United States of America, Polar Bear Cub, Winner, National Awards, Natural World & Wildlife, 2022 Sony World Photography Awards

Germany – Frank Loddenkemper

Greece – Foteini Zaglara

Hungary – Edina Csoboth

Iceland – Viktor Einar Vilhelmsson

India – Haider Khan Indonesia – Metha Meiryna Italy – Antonino Pellicano

Japan – Kaoru Sugiyama, Winner Japan – Yasuhiro Takachi, 2nd Place Japan – Mituhiro Okabe, 3rd Place

Kuwait – Mohammad Mirza

Republic of Korea –Wonyoung Choi, Winner Republic of Korea – Wookeun Choi, 2nd Place Republic of Korea – Jung Woon Park, 3rd Place Latvia – Viktors Rimarevs

Lithuania – Virginija Mureikienė Malaysia – Yih Chang Chew Myanmar – Swe Tun

Nepal – Dikpal Thapa

Netherlands – Harrie Coehorst

Nigeria – Samakinwa Emmanuel Temitope

Norway – Hans Kristian Strand Pakistan – Yawar Abbas Philippines – Mariah Zamora Poland – Marcin Giba

Portugal – Jose Pessoa Neto Qatar – Amal Prasad Romania – Teodor Toma

Russian Federation – Marianna Smolina

Saudi Arabia – Mazin Alhassan Serbia – Vladimir Zivojinovic Singapore – Chin Leong Teo Slovakia – Filip Hrebenda Slovenia – Matjaž Šimic

Latin America National Awards
© Sergio Carrasco, Mexico, The Scent of Cempasúchil, Short List, National Awards, Portraiture, 2022 Sony World Photography Awards

This year’s Latin American National Awards winners are:

Colombia – Bernardo del Cristo Hernandez Sierra, Winner

Argentina – Gonzalo Javier Santile, 2nd Place

Peru – Pedro Jarque Krebs, 3rd Place Bolivia – Paola Lambertin Murillo Chile – Oscar Seguel

Costa Rica – Juan Carlos Rodriguez Ecuador – Joel Alonso Rodríguez Guatemala – Juan Pablo Méndez Garzona Mexico – Sergio Carrasco

Sony World Photography Awards

Established by the World Photography Organization, the internationally acclaimed Sony World Photography Awards is now in its fifteenth year. Moreover, the free-to-enter competitions provide insight into contemporary photography. In addition, they offer leading and emerging artists the opportunity for exposure.  World-Photo-Organization-Logo-2022

They also recognize the world’s most influential artists working in the medium through the Outstanding Contribution to Photography. Canadian photographer Edward Burtynsky is the 2022 recipient of this award. Furthermore, he joins a distinguished list of iconic names; they include Martin Parr, William Eggleston, Candida Hofer, Nadav Kander, Gerhard Steidl as well as Graciela Iturbide.

In addition, the awards showcase the works of winning and short-listed photographers at an annual exhibition at Somerset House, London.