2024 Sony World Photography USA Winner Revealed

2024 Sony World Photography USA Winner Revealed

National and Regional Awards Winners Announced

© Tran Tuan Viet, Vietnam, Winner, National Awards, Sony World Photography Awards 2024

San Diego, CA—The World Photography Organization and Sony United States revealed that the 2024 Sony World Photography USA winner is Pascal Fouquet. The National Awards program is an initiative set up by the World Photography Organization and Sony to support local photographic communities around the world. Moreover, 395,000+ images from more than 220 countries and territories were submitted to the Sony World Photography Awards 2024.

Now in its 17th year, the free-to-enter awards program is a global voice for photography. Additionally, it provides a vital insight into contemporary photography today. For both established and emerging artists, the program offers world-class opportunities for exposure of their work.

2024 Sony World Photography USA Winner
© Pascal Fouquet, United States, Winner, National Awards, Sony World Photography Awards 2024

Pascal Fouquet was selected by judges for his photograph To the Moon. It was entered into the Travel category of the Open competition. The image depicts a SpaceX Falcon Heavy rocket transiting the moon and carrying the X-37B space plane into orbit.

Pascal Fouquet is an Orlando photographer of Haitian descent. Furthermore, he strives to capture unique perspectives of celestial elements, including birds, planes and rockets. “I feel immensely honored and grateful to be the recipient of an international photography award,” said Fouquet. “This past year was devoted to capturing the essence of rocket launches from the perspective of an Orlando resident, framing these awe-inspiring events against the backdrop of familiar local landmarks.”

What’s more, as the United States’ National Award winner, Fouquet receives Sony digital imaging equipment. The WPO will also feature him in the Sony World Photography Awards exhibition and book.

In addition, Sony and the WPO will announce the overall winners in the Student, Youth, Open and Professional competitions of the Sony World Photography Awards 2024 on April 18, 2024. Those winners will also exhibit as part of the exhibition at Somerset House, London, April 19 to May 6, 2024.

2024 National and Regional Awards Winners

Following are this year’s Sony World Photography National and Regional Awards winners, listed by country.

Sony-World-Photography-USA Winner-2024_LourensDurand_SouthAfrica_National-Awards_2024
© Lourens Durand, South Africa, Winner, National Awards, Sony World Photography Awards 2024

Bangladesh – Mahdin Shafiq Omi
Cambodia – Davuth Van
Egypt – Karim Osama
Germany – Natalie Strohmaier

India – Mitul Kajaria
Indonesia – Dhiky Aditya
Japan – Kenichiro Hagiwara, Winner; Hajime Hirano, 2nd Place; Masayuki Hirata, 3rd Place
Republic of Korea – Lee Jongkee, Winner; Seongmin Park, 2nd Place; Jaeeun Kim, 3rd Place

© Yasser Alomari, Saudi Arabia, Winner, National Awards, Sony World Photography Awards 2024

Kuwait – Mohammed Mirza
Malaysia – Lim Chien Ting
Myanmar – Kyaw Htet
Nepal – Bibek Kunwar
Nigeria – Onyekachi Iloh
Pakistan – Muhammad Saddique Inam
Philippines – Reginald James Lorico
Poland – Barbara Szydlowska
Qatar – Abdulla AL-Mushaifri

Saudi Arabia – Yasser Alomari
Singapore – Ju Shen Lee
South Africa – Lourens Durand
Sri Lanka – Wasiri Gajaman
Taiwan – Chia Jung Chou
Thailand – Thanayu Jongwattanasilkul
Turkey – Okan Yilmaz
United Arab Emirates – Vinaya Mohan
United States – Pascal Fouquet
Vietnam – Tran Tuan Viet

European Regional Awards
Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania & Moldova

Tomáš Havrda (Czech Republic), Winner
Cziráki Orsolya Boglárka (Hungary), Shortlist
Diana Morozovskaia (Moldova), Shortlist
Diana Buzoianu (Romania), Shortlist
Michal Zahornacky (Slovakia), Shortlist

Latvia, Estonia & Lithuania

Viktors Rimarevs (Latvia), Winner
Raido Nurk (Estonia), Shortlist
Leva Lozuraitytė (Lithuania), Shortlist

Croatia, Slovenia, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Bosnia & Herzegovina

Ana Skobe (Slovenia), Winner
Danilo Kreso (Bosnia & Herzegovina), Shortlist
Robert Marić (Croatia), Shortlist
Suer Celina (Kosovo), Shortlist
Ivana Todorović (Montenegro), Shortlist

© Abdulla AL-Mushaifri, Qatar, Winner, National Awards, Sony World Photography Awards 2024
Cyprus, Greece, Bulgaria & North Macedonia

Vladimir Karamazov (Bulgaria), Winner
Elena Georgiou (Cyprus), Shortlist
Stefanos Papaioannou (Greece), Shortlist
Vlatko Rafeski (North Macedonia), Shortlist
Tijana Morača (Serbia), Shortlist

Latin America Regional Awards

Marcos Azulay (Argentina), Winner
Jair Fernando Coll Rubiano (Colombia), 2nd Place
Marco Chacana (Chile), 3rd Place
Reynaldo San Martín (Bolivia), Shortlist
Alexa Obando (Costa Rica), Shortlist
Wilfrido Enriquez (Ecuador), Shortlist
Juan Pablo Méndez Garzona (Guatemala), Shortlist
Daniel Heras (Mexico), Shortlist
Connie France Calderon Martel (Peru), Shortlist 2024-Sony-World-Photography-USA-Winner-graphic

Outstanding Contribution to Photography Award

The Sony World Photography Awards additionally recognize the world’s most influential artists working in the medium through the Outstanding Contribution to Photography Award. The acclaimed photographer Sebastião Salgado is the 2024 recipient of this award.

He joins a distinguished list of iconic names. They include William Eggleston, Mary Ellen Mark, Martin Parr, Candida Höfer, Nadav Kander, Gerhard Steidl, Graciela Iturbide, Edward Burtynsky as well as Rinko Kawauchi.