CEA Names Industry Leaders to 2011 CE Hall of Fame

CEA Names Industry Leaders to 2011 CE Hall of Fame


Arlington, VA—The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) announced the 2011 class of inductees into the Consumer Electronics (CE) Hall of Fame. Created in 2000, the CE Hall of Fame honors the consumer electronics industry leaders who have shaped the advancement of innovation.

The inductees this year include company founders and inventors, those who passionately move technology forward, marketing geniuses, retailers that bring products to consumers and journalists who write about the industry.

“The consumer electronics industry creates innovative products that make our lives better,” said Gary Shapiro, CEA president and CEO. “Innovative products come from innovative people, and the success of our industry is built upon technologies and products created by the leaders we honor in the CE Hall of Fame.”

The 11 new honorees will be inducted into the CE Hall of Fame at an awards dinner during CEA’s Industry Forum to be held in San Diego on October 23-28, 2011. Among those new honorees are individuals who have had an impact on the photo-imaging industry, include:

  • Dr. Fujio Masuoka, who invented flash memory while at Toshiba and also developed SAMOS memory
  • Dr. Eli Harari, who is a cofounder and former CEO of SanDisk, which invented or codeveloped many of the standard memory card formats used in CE products, ranging from digital cameras to smartphones. ce.org