PMDA Names 2016 Person of the Year and Award Recipients

PMDA Names 2016 Person of the Year and Award Recipients


Woodbury, NY—The PhotoImaging Manufacturers and Distributors Association has named Matt Sweetwood, recently retired president of Unique Photo, as its 2016 Person of the Year. This distinguished award is being given to Sweetwood in recognition of his many contributions to the imaging industry, and his continued support as president of the Josephine Herrick Project.

Three additional honorees will be recognized at an awards dinner in Las Vegas, Nevada, on the eve of the 2016 CES. Berend Ozceri, the cofounder of Eyefi, will be given the Herbert Keppler Technical Achievement Award; legendary photojournalist John H. White will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement in Photography Award; and photographer Chris Burkard will be presented with the Visionary Photographer Award.

In addition, Popular Photography magazine will be revealing their choice for “Camera of the Year” at the event.

“We’re pleased to be able to recognize these distinguished individuals for their accomplishments in the field of digital imaging,” said Dan Unger, president of the PMDA. “And we’re thrilled that Popular Photography has chosen our event to tell the world about their choice for Camera of the Year. Our event will once again shine the light on the many accomplishments and innovations that has kept the digital imaging industry on the forefront of the consumer electronics revolution.”

These prestigious awards will be presented at the PMDA International Awards dinner, which will take place on January 5, 2016 at Life in the SLS Hotel, Las Vegas, prior to the opening of the 2016 CES. The evening will include surprise entertainment and a gallery of both John H. White’s and Chris Burkard’s award-winning photography. The PMDA has been recognizing individual contributions to the imaging industry since 1965.