TIPA Reveals 2024 CJPC Grand Prix Awards Winners

TIPA Reveals 2024 CJPC Grand Prix Awards Winners


Madrid, Spain—The 2024 CJPC Grand Prix Awards are held by the Camera Journal Press Club (CJPC, Japan), a group of representatives from magazines and websites specializing in photo-imaging products and news. The selection committee, organized under the auspices of CJPC’s Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee, has selected the best products for the Camera of the Year and Lens of the Year. They were chosen from among those introduced into the market during the previous fiscal year (April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2024).

Moreover, the Reader awards are determined by general camera users’ votes on the CJPC website. In addition, the CJPC members select the Editors Choice R&D Award, Technology Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.

2024 CJPC Grand Prix Awards-Sony-Alpha-9-III-SEL35F14GM9-_front_top_high
Sony Alpha 9 III

Further, the selection committee includes CJPC members; chief editors of member publications; external members entrusted by Camera Grand Prix Executive Committee; and special members. They include academic experts, technical writers, professional photographers as well as TIPA, the only photo-imaging association that votes with CJPC members.

TIPA, the Technical Image Press Association, is a worldwide association of photo-imaging-related magazines and websites. TIPA joined the CJPC committee in the selection process during their general assembly in late March 2024. Likewise, a member of the CJPC joined the TIPA general assembly to cast a vote for the TIPA World Awards. This year, TIPA was represented at the CJPC awards event in Tokyo by Emanuele Costanzo, TIPA’s vice president.

2024 CJPC Grand Prix Awards Winners

Five awards were presented this year. The Camera of the Year is granted to a camera recognized as the best of all released during the period. Conversely, the Lens of the Year is for the best lens launched in the Japanese market.

2024 CJPC Grand Prix Awards -Nikon-firmware-v5.00-Nikon Plena-S-line-Nikon-Nikkor-Z-135mm-f1.8-S-Plena-horiz
Nikon Nikkor Z 135mm f/1.8 S Plena

The Editors Choice Technology Award goes to an innovative feature that advances the ability of photographers to capture unique as well as exciting images. Furthermore, the Editors Choice R&D awards are dedicated to products that break new ground in imaging design and engineering. The Editors Choice Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes accomplishments in new product development.

The awards winners follow:

  • Camera GP2024 Camera of the Year:
Sony α9 III
  • Camera GP2024 Lens of the Year: Nikon Nikkor Z 135mm f/1.8 S Plena
  • Camera GP2024 Readers Award-Camera: Sony α9 III
  • Camera GP2024 Readers Award-Lens: Nikon Nikkor Z 135mm f/1.8 S Plena
  • Camera GP2024 Editors Choice Technology Award: Nikon Z 8 (Auto Capture Function)
  • Camera GP2024 Editors Choice R&D Award: Fujifilm Instax Pal; and DJI Osmo Pocket 3
  • Camera GP2024 Editors Choice Lifetime Achievement Award: Lambda Bags

    photo-imaging gifts-Fujifilm-INSTAX-Pal-Stand-green-celebrate-mom
    Fujifilm Instax Pal

“We are very proud of our continued association with the CJPC and the important work they do to promote and grow the photo and imaging market. We also greatly appreciate their reciprocal engagement in the TIPA World Awards process,” commented Thomas Gerwers, chairman of TIPA.