CTA Announces 2017 Executive Board

CTA Announces 2017 Executive Board

New Board of Industry Leaders Also Named


Arlington, VA—The Consumer Technology Association (CTA)™ announced the election of its 2017 executive board as well as its Board of Industry Leaders (BIL). CTA is a trade association representing more than 2,200 consumer technology companies.

“Congratulations to these outstanding trailblazers and pioneers of our industry,” said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, Consumer Technology Association. “We are humbled to have such a distinguished and visionary group of volunteers help lead our association and our industry as we continue to fight for and promote innovation that helps make our world a better place.”

Gary Shapiro

CTA announced the 24 new members of the association’s BIL and executive board during the Innovate! and Celebrate event in San Jose, California. The event was hosted by CTA and Tech.Co.

CTA Executive Board

CTA’s executive board helps shape CTA’s strategic direction on behalf of the industry. It also provides oversight of the association’s services and programs, including CES.

David Hagan, chairman and CEO, Boingo Wireless, was named chairman of the board. He succeeds Starpower’s chairman, Daniel Pidgeon, who also remains a member of CTA’s executive board.

Additionally, Mike Fasulo, president and COO, Sony Electronics, Inc., and Randy Fry, president of Fry’s Electronics, are newly elected vice chairs.

Furthermore, new executive board members include: Dr. Jim Mault, vice president/chief medical officer, Qualcomm Life; Mike Dunn, president, Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment Worldwide; Bridget Karlin, managing director, Intel; Laura Orvidas, vice president, consumer electronics, Amazon; Steve Tiffen, president and CEO, The Tiffen Company; and also Fred Towns, president, New Age Electronics.

Mike Fasulo

In addition to Pidgeon, previously elected members who will continue to serve on CTA’s board include David Inns, CEO, GreatCall; Eliott Peck, senior vice president, Imaging Technologies and Communications Group/chairman and CEO, Canon Information Technology, Canon USA; John Penney, chief strategy officer, Starz; and Pat Lavelle, president and CEO, VOXX International.

CTA’s Gary Shapiro also continues to serve on the association’s executive board. Other remaining members include: Glenda MacMullin, COO and CFO, CTA, serving as treasurer; and Jacqueline Black, manager, office of the president, serving as newly elected secretary.


CTA also announced the election of its new BIL. The BIL serves CTA and its board in an advisory role. In addition, it helps set public policy positions and priorities for association activities.

Members of CTA’s new BIL include:

Terms through December 31, 2017
Ron Freeman, chairman, AAMP Global
Sean Stapleton, president and also CEO, Warrantech

Terms through December 31, 2018
Henry Chiarelli, executive vice president, Industry Relations, Gibson Brands
Dave Keller, vice president, Sales – North America, Vantage Controls (Legrand)

Terms through December 31, 2019 

Joellyn Gray

Ty Ahmad-Taylor, CEO, THX
Jim Braun, president and CEO, Dual Electronics Corporation
Deena Ghazarian, senior partner, TargetPath
John Ivey, president and CEO, MiTek Corp. and AtlasIED
Henry Juszkiewicz, CEO, Gibson Brands
Omar Khan, president, The Cellular Connection
Noel Lee, head Monster, Monster Inc.
Sally Lange, vice president – National Retail, Sprint
Mike Mansuetti, president, Robert Bosch LLC
Steve McIrvin, CEO, Autel Robotics USA, LLC
Jay McLellan, vice president, Energy Management, Controls and Automation, Leviton Manufacturing Co.
Sally Washlow, president, Cedar Electronics
Doug Webster, vice president, Global Marketing and Corporate Communications, Cisco Systems
Tim Yerdon, vice president, Visteon Corporation

Continuing CTA 2017 BIL Member

Itai Ben-gal, CEO, iRule
Craig Birmingham, vice president/general manager CE, Retail, & eCommerce Reseller Channels, Ingram Micro Consumer Electronics
John Bosch, president and CEO, Grand Destiny
Jeff Bradley, senior vice president, Devices, AT&T
Scott Burnett, managing director, Global Consumer Electronics Industry, IBM
Jim Buzckowski, Henry Ford Technical Fellow/director, EE Systems, Ford
Dr. Matthew Diamond, medical director, Misfit
Andy Fathollahi, founder and CEO, Incipio
Bob Fields, president, Beacon Technology Group
Denise Gibson, cofounder and chairman, Ice Mobility
Joellyn Gray, director, New Business Development, Fujifilm North America
Ximena Hartsock, cofounder, Phone2Action

Eric Hsia, venture partner/senior adviser, TransLink Capital
Russ Johnston, executive vice president, Marketing, Product Planning & Corporate Communications, Pioneer Americas, Pioneer Electronics (USA)
Mara Lewis, CEO and cofounder, Roar
Michael Moskowitz, president, Panasonic Canada Inc. & Panasonic Consumer Electronic Company (Americas)
Henry Muyshondt, executive director, MOST Cooperation, and senior manager, Microchip Technology
Derek Pace, owner, Certified Sounds
Carmichael Roberts, chairman and cofounder, MC10
Paul Sabbah, president, Stamford International
Jake Sigal, founder and CEO, Tome
Joseph Stinziano, executive vice president, Consumer Business Division, Samsung Electronics America
Gary Yacoubian, president and managing partner, Specialty Technologies/SVS. cta.tech