2023 World Press Photo Contest Call for Entries

2023 World Press Photo Contest Call for Entries


New York, NY—The 2023 World Press Photo Contest is now open for submissions. Entries are accepted until January 10, 2023. Entering the contest is free and open to all professional photographers working in the field of photojournalism and/or documentary photography. 

The annual World Press Photo Contest recognizes and celebrates the best photojournalism as well as documentary photography produced over the last year.

For the second year, the 2023 contest will follow a regional model that includes six regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania. Moreover, entries on a wide range of themes may be submitted to the appropriate format-based category: Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format. Category details can be found here.

2023 World Press Photo Contest Jury

In addition, the judging process of the 2023 World Press Photo Contest takes place in several rounds. The six-week period spans January and February 2023. It involves regional juries as well as a global jury. Furthermore, judging will take place both online and offline.

2023 World Press Photo Contest Jurors

In each of the six regions of the contest model, the regional jury will first make a selection of entries per category. Each jury has a chair responsible for maintaining the integrity of the process. They will ensure the deliberations are conducted in accordance with the highest standards and all jury members are fully involved.

The regional jury chairs at this date are:

  • Africa: Angela Jimu, Zimbabwe/Malawi, visual storyteller, cofounder and director, Zimbabwe Association of Female Photographers
  • Asia: Hideko Kataoka, Japan, photo editor, curator, educator and director of photography, Newsweek Japan
  • Europe: Kateryna Radchenko, Ukraine, curator, and director, Odesa Photo Days Festival
  • North and Central America: Tomás Ayuso, Honduras,photographer and writer
  • South America: Felipe Dana, Brazil, photographer and photo editor, the Associated Press
  • Southeast Asia and Oceania: Maika Elan, Vietnam, photographer and photo editor

Winners will receive approximately $1,055 as a regional winner and an additional $5,270 as a global winner. They will also have their work showcased to a global audience through the annual World Press Photo Exhibition. The exhibition will travel to more than 80 countries. In addition, the winners will receive global media attention and exposure on the World Press Photo social channels with two million followers. world-press-photo-logo

World Press Photo Foundation

A group of Dutch photographers founded World Press Photo in 1955 when they organized a contest. The goal was to expose their work to an international audience. Since then, the organization’s mission has expanded. It is now a global platform connecting photojournalists and documentary photographers with a worldwide audience through trustworthy storytelling.