PPFA Unveils Annual Service Award Honorees & Winners of Framing Competition

PPFA Unveils Annual Service Award Honorees & Winners of Framing Competition


Jackson, MI—The Professional Picture Framers Association (PPFA), a PMA member association, honored several members during the PPFA all-member meeting and luncheon held during the PPFA 2012 Annual Conference at the Mirage Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. PPFA also announced the winners of its international framing competition.

Ken Link, CPF, PPFA president, presented the following award winners with their respective accolades:

PPFA Lifetime Achievement Award: Charles Saucier, CPF. The owner of Riverbend Gallery in Harvey, Louisiana, Saucier joined PPFA in 1980 and became a certified picture framer in 1986. He serves as president of the PPFA Deep South chapter and has served as secretary, treasurer and program chair. He was a director on the PPFA national board for two terms, is a competition judge, teaches framing seminars and has traveled extensively to other chapters in support of programs.

Paul Frederick Distinction for Leadership Award: John Pruitt, CPF.
A member since 1976, Pruitt has worked on the local and national level, holding many offices, including PPFA president, board director, chair of the advisory committee, Oaks Club, supplier committee, awards & recognition committee, nominations committee and chair of the bylaws committee. He has been heavily involved in the North Texas chapter, where he served as program chair, vice president and president and was one of the first chapter members to earn the CPF designation.

PPFA Service Award: Linda Pujo, MCPF. Owner of Picture Perfect Custom Framing in Menasha, Wisconsin, Pujo has been involved in the Wisconsin chapter for many years, has held various offices, including president, and currently serves on the chapter board. She is an accredited PPFA competition judge and serves on the PPFA competition board. She is a master certified picture framer, an MCPF examiner and a PPFA educator.

Vivian Kistler Recognition for Innovation Award: Bert De Roo, FrameReady – SoftTouch Solutions; Jeff and Jeanette King, SpecialtySoft; and Paul Thomas and Dan Merrefield, LifeSaver Software. These three POS software companies were honored for developing visionary computer technology that streamlines the ordering process for consumers and framers.

Chapter Volunteer of the Year Award: Kathy Courtney. Coowner of the Courtney-Laughlin Studio and Gallery in Beaver, Pennsylvania, Courtney has been active in the Tri-State chapter for over a decade, serving as president for two terms and currently serving as secretary/treasurer.

In addition, outgoing PPFA board members Gene Ausili, CPF; Shirley Damon, CPF; and Jeannette King were honored for their service; and longtime PPFA member and educator Nona Powers, MCPF, was honored with a lifetime membership.

International Framing Competition

The PPFA also held its International OPEN and PRINT framing competition during the 2012 convention, concurrent with the West Coast Art & Frame Show. The competition is the grand finale of PPFA chapter-level competitions. Entries were displayed on the WCAF trade show floor, where viewers could vote for Popular Choice.

In the OPEN category, in which participants could frame anything to indulge their creativity, Trevor and Jenny Yates of Just Frame It, Gladstone, Australia, took first place and won a Judges Award for Technical Merit, sponsored by SoftTouch Solutions, for their hinged framing piece with a book and photo about the Titanic. Second place went to Lavonna Bonnie Dietering of Art Incorporated, San Antonio, Texas, for a brightly colored “bug”; Dietering also won a Popular Choice Award. Deborah Hill, MCPF, and Elizabeth Hellsen, CPF, Greenhouse Gallery, San Antonio, Texas, took third place with a military shadowbox.  

Additionally, Mikki Kavich, MCPF, Mikki’s Frame Shop, Crossville, Tennessee, won a Judges Award for Best Shadow Box Design and Boris Smorodinsky, Striving Artists, Chatsworth, California, took high point first-time entry.

In the PRINT category, all participants framed the same digital photograph reproduction, “Fall Leaf/Blue Sky,” by Linda Sutton. Dean Cardenas and Chris Laune, from Art Incorporated, San Antonio, Texas, took first place and a Judges Award for Frame Innovation in Honor of the Arts & Crafts Movement. Glenn Renick, Fastframe #518, Lakeville, Minnesota, took second place; and Trevor and Jenny Yates took third.

Amy Holloway, CPF, Bradley’s Art & Frame, Houston, Texas, took high point first-time entry and an honorable mention. Bruce Westphal, CPF, The Great Frame Up, Indianapolis, Indiana, received a Judges Award for Innovation in the Use and Manipulation of Materials. Lavonna Bonnie Dietering also received a Judges Award and an honorable mention. Christopher Taylor, The Art Shop, Greensboro, North Carolina, won the Popular Choice Award sponsored by Picture Framing magazine.

To view images of the custom framed pieces, click on  “Competitions” at ppfa.com.