Showalter Elected 2012-2013 PMA President; DIMA Elects 2012 Officers

Showalter Elected 2012-2013 PMA President; DIMA Elects 2012 Officers


Las Vegas, NV—PMA elected its 2012-2013 officers at the 2012 PMA official business session at The Venetian in Las Vegas, Nevada. The session was held at the PMA@CES TechZone during the 2012 International Consumer Electronics Show.

PMA members elected Allen Showalter of King Photo/Showalter Imaging Group, Harrisonburg, Virginia, as its new president. Showalter returns to the PMA presidency after serving as PMA president in 2008-09.

Along with the election of Showalter, other association officers were elected for the 2012-2013 term: Gabrielle Mullinax, Fullerton Photographics, Fullerton, California, was moved to president-elect; Mark Klostermeyer, MCPF, Design Frames, Falls Church, Virginia, was elected vice president; and Robert L. Hanson, Harold’s Photo Center, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, is the treasurer.

Jim Esp was elected executive director/secretary of PMA. PMA’s 2010-2012 president, Brian Wood of Photovision, Salem, Oregon, is now a trustee. Serving three-year terms as trustees-at-large are: Jason T. Jaslow, Mimosa Digital; Mark Leonard, Dodd Camera; Jerry Sullivan, Precision Camera; and Richard Yagjian, Hunt’s Photo & Video . Serving two-year terms as trustees-at-large are: Roger G. Christian, University Camera; Alan S. Logue, Hutt Street Photos; Aric Snyder, Jr., Inter-State Studio and Publishing; and Donald N. Spring, Jr., Cavalcade Color Lab. Serving a one-year trustee term is Chris Lydle, CPC, Chris’ Camera Center and Digital Photo.

PMA members also elected national chairpersons to one-year terms: Australia, Phil J. Gresham, Fotofast +; Brasil, Mario Shimoda, Shimoda Photo e Video; Canada, Paul Clairmont, Lord Photo; France, Christophe Coste, Photo Christophe ; Germany, Wolfgang Abendroth, CeWe Color AG & Co. ; New Zealand, Graham Boswell, Fotofast +; Peru, Luis Salas Paredes, Foto A SRL ; United Kingdom, Steve Lord, WBH Lord & Sons; and U.S., Bill Eklund, Sharp One Hour Photo + Auxiliary.

                  DIMA 2012 Slate of Officers: Lee Varis Is President

The Digital Imaging Marketing Association (DIMA), a member association of PMA, elected 2010-2011 officers at the 2012 DIMA official business luncheon on January 9 at the annual conference in the Bally’s Las Vegas.

The Digital Imaging Marketing Association, comprised of photo retailers, professional and commercial imagers, and photographers, builds on an 87-year legacy of PMA by promoting emerging technologies and business innovations throughout the global photo-imaging industry. DIMA directs this purpose through the development of education, marketing research and networking forums, and it enables members to envision and experience successful methods of technology integration yielding improved business practices.

The new officers are: president, Lee Varis of Varis PhotoMedia, Los Angeles, California; president-elect, Joshua Litwin, Memento Press, San Francisco, California; first vice president, Mark Zucker, Zookbinders, Deerfield, Illinois; second vice president, Glynn Lavender, Creative Photo Workshops; immediate past president, Phil Gresham, Fotofast, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia; secretary/executive director, Jim Esp, PMA, Jackson, Michigan; and director at large, Chris Lydle, Chris’ Camera Center and Digital Photo, Aiken, South Carolina.

The DIMA trustees are Gabe Cano, Specialty Color Services, Santa Barbara, California; Jirair Christianian, Mike’s Camera, Boulder, Colorado; Mark R. Comon, Paul’s Photo, Torrance, California; John M. Lacagnina, ColorCentric, Rochester, New York; Ibarionex Perello, Ibarionex Photography, Los Angeles, California; Erin Manning, The Whole Picture, Manhattan Beach, California; and Ellen Rowan, Interactive Strategy, North Bend, Washington.