9th Annual Lucie Awards Honor Photographers at Lincoln Center

9th Annual Lucie Awards Honor Photographers at Lincoln Center


New York, NY—New York City hosted the 9th Annual Lucie Awards in a gala black-tie ceremony and awards program held at Rose Theater, Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center. The Lucie Awards (lucieawards.com) were presented to honorees in photography categories ranging from Achievement in Fine Arts, Humanitarian and Documentary to Achievements in support categories from fashion to advertising. This year, 1,100 people attended from 25 countries.

“We are always thrilled to gather the photography community to celebrate the world in which we work and live and this year’s talented honorees are exceptional. We continue to build on our foundation each subsequent year,” said Lucies’ founder, Hossein Farmani. “We are blessed again to have such an extraordinary group of extremely talented honorees, and by the equally accomplished presenters. These photographers are truly the best in their respective fields.” 

The 2011 honorees and presenters were:
Dawoud Bey, Achievement in Portraiture, presented by Vince Aletti
Bill Eppridge, Achievement in Photojournalism, presented by Dick Stolley
Rich Clarkson, Achievement in Sports, presented by Chris Johns
Nobuyoshi Araki, Achievement in Fine Art, presented by Michael Grecco
Nancy McGirr and Fotokids, Humanitarian Award, presented by Harris Whitbeck
Eli Reed, Achievement in Documentary Photography, presented by Misha Erwitt
The International Center of Photography received the 2011 Spotlight Award, presented to Willis “Buzz” Hartshorn by Annie Leibovitz.

International Photographer of the Year was presented by Glen Serbin and Susan Baraz from AtEdge to Majid Saeedi, who claimed the $10,000 honor among finalists in the following categories: Advertising, Adam Taylor; Architecture, Paul van Hulzen; Book, Edmund Clark; Editorial, Jacopo Quaranta; Fine Art, Chad Holder; Nature, Marsel van Oosten; People, Majid Saeedi; and Special category, Martin Oeggerli.

The Discovery of the Year Award, a $5,000 prize, was presented by APA representatives Theresa Raffetto and Tony Gale to Anna di Prospero. Finalists included: Advertising, Xi Sinson; Architecture, Jose Ramon Moreno Fernandez; Editorial, Natasha Shulte ; Fine Art, Arman Zhenikeyev; Nature, William Scully; People, Anna di Prospero; and Special category, Karen Divine.

Susan Baraz presented Daniel Beltrá with a prize of $5,000 and a Lucie statue for the International Photographer of the Year – Deeper Perspective Award.  Beltrá was chosen from finalists Robin Hammond, Darcy Padilla, Michael Krebs, Gloriann Liu and Tomasz Lazar.

                                       Support Category Winners
Also conferred were awards in five support categories:

Picture Editor of the Year: Kira Pollack, Time magazine
Photography Magazine of the Year: ZOOM
Fashion Layout of the Year: W magazine, for Tilda Swinton, photographed by Tim Walker
Book Publisher of the Year: Chris Boot, Ltd., for Infidel by Tim Hetherington
Photography Curator/Exhibition of the Year: Kohle Yohannan for “Beauty Culture” at the Annenberg Space for Photography, Los Angeles