Lucie Awards Announce 12th Annual IPA Competition Finalists

Lucie Awards Announce 12th Annual IPA Competition Finalists


Los Angeles, CA—The Lucie Awards, a sister effort of the Lucie Foundation, announced the 2014 finalists for the International Photography Awards (IPA) competition. An international jury of photography professionals selected the finalists from more than 27,000 submissions from 104 countries.

Of these 30 finalists, one winner will be named for each of four categories at the Lucie Awards in November: International Photographer of the Year; Discovery of the Year; Deeper Perspective Photographer of the Year; and Moving Image Photographer of the Year. The Lucie Awards culminate a weekend of events that includes the IPA’s Best of Show exhibition/party and the Lucie Lectures. This year David Clarke, head of Photography, Tate, will be guest curator of the Best of Show Exhibition.

“The 80 plus jurors for the IPA competition are the most profoundly influential people in photography, coming from all parts of the globe. It is most gratifying that the amazing images submitted were as well: China, Iran, Ukraine, and Syria, to mention a few,” said Susan Baraz, head of judges for the IPA. “One realizes how a single photograph can bind together all our lives. It’s humbling.”

Following are the finalists in the 2014 competition by category, includes the new “Event” category.

International Photographer of the Year: Advertising, Jaime Travezan, UK; Architecture, Peter Steinhauer, Singapore; Book, Sandro, U.S.; Editorial, Sandro, U.S.; Event, Rudi Dundas, U.S.; Fine Art, Maxine Helfman, U.S.; Nature, Karen Lunney, Australia; People, Didier Mayhew, France; Special, Jay Mark Johnson, U.S.

Discovery of the Year: Advertising, Isabella Cassini, U.S.; Architecture, Maroh Kim, U.S.; Book, Jan Janssen, Netherlands; Editorial, Robin Hinsch, Germany; Event, Amy Siqveland, U.S.; Fine Art, Jackson Patterson, U.S.; Nature, Vyacheslav Mishchenko, Ukraine; People, Joey Yu, Singapore; Special, Cheryl Medow, U.S.

Deeper Perspective Photographer of the Year: K. M. Asad, Bangladesh; Tim Gerard Barker, Vietnam; Mary F. Calvert, U.S.; Stacy Kranitz, U.S.; Sarah Borst, U.S.; Adrian Mirgos, Poland.

Moving Image Photographer of the Year: Beat Keller, Switzerland; Szymon Kobusiński, Poland; lukas hüller / sami ajouri / hannes seebacher, Austria; Yannick Wegner, Germany; Simone Sapienza, Italy; Anna Andrzejewska, Poland.

The Lucies also will recognize those in the creative community who are integral in crafting an image in the following categories: Print Advertising Campaign of the Year; Fashion Layout of the Year; Photography Magazine of the Year; Book Publisher of the Year; Exhibition/Curator of the Year; and Picture Editor of the Year. A Special Tribute to photographers who have passed away will be showcased.

The Lucie Awards are produced by the Lucie Foundation, a nonprofit charitable foundation whose mission is to honor master photographers, discover and cultivate emerging talent and promote photography appreciation worldwide.