HP Reveals Hewlett Packard Enterprise and HP Inc. Planned Boards of Directors

HP Reveals Hewlett Packard Enterprise and HP Inc. Planned Boards of Directors


Palo Alto, CA—As HP prepares to separate into two companies on November 1, 2015, the company introduced the expected members of the boards of directors for Hewlett Packard Enterprise and HP Inc. The new boards will go into effect upon completion of the separation.

Each board will include members of the current HP board and several new directors chosen after a comprehensive review of personal and professional qualifications as they relate to the specific needs of the two new companies.

Hewlett Packard Enterprise will provide the technology solutions customers need to optimize traditional IT, while helping them build a secure, cloud-enabled, mobile-ready infrastructure suited to their needs. Current HP CEO, Meg Whitman, will lead Hewlett Packard Enterprise.

HP Inc., a personal systems and printing company, will focus on providing a strong innovation pipeline across areas such as 3D printing and new computing experiences. HP Inc. will be led Dion Weisler, who currently runs the Printing and Personal Systems Group at HP.

In addition, current board member James Skinner will resign from the board, effective upon completion of the separation, due to the increased workload of his new role as executive chairman of Walgreens Boots Alliance, Inc.

Hewlett Packard Enterprise.
Pat Russo, who joined HP’s board in 2011 and currently serves as its lead independent director, will chair the board of directors. Russo previously served as CEO of Alcatel-Lucent, as well as chairman, president and CEO of Lucent Technologies Inc.

“We set out to create two boards with the most experienced, global-minded and diverse members we could find to help each company win in their unique markets,” said Russo. “In addition to their collective business acumen, the new board members have worked in more than a dozen countries around the world. They will provide strong leadership and invaluable insights into international operations, market opportunities and effective governance.”

In addition to Russo, the Hewlett Packard Enterprise board of directors is expected to include: Dan Ammann, president, General Motors; Marc Andreessen, cofounder, AH Capital Management; Michael J. Angelakis, senior advisor to the Executive Management Committee, Comcast Corporation and former vice chairman/CFO, Comcast Corporation; Leslie A. Brun, chairman/CEO, Sarr Group; Pamela Carter, former president, Cummins Distribution; Klaus Kleinfeld, chairman/CEO, Alcoa Inc.; Raymond J. Lane, partner emeritus, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers; Ann M. Livermore, former executive vice president, HP Enterprise Business; Raymond E. Ozzie, CEO, Talko Inc.; Gary M. Reiner, operating partner, General Atlantic; Lip-Bu Tan, chairman, Walden International and president/CEO, Cadence Design Systems; and Meg Whitman, chairman, president and CEO, HP.

Andreessen, Kleinfeld, Lane, Livermore, Ozzie, Reiner, Russo and Whitman all currently serve as members of the board of directors of HP.

HP Inc.
Meg Whitman will chair the board of directors for HP Inc. Whitman has served as president and CEO of HP since September 2011, in addition to serving as director of HP since January 2011 and chairman of the board since July 2014.

“The post-separation boards for both Hewlett Packard Enterprise and HP Inc. comprise leaders with some of the most diverse backgrounds and professional experiences I’ve seen in my career,” said Whitman. “I’m confident that these boards will successfully serve the needs of both companies and their shareholders at a defining moment in time.”

In addition to Whitman, the HP Inc. board of directors is expected to include: Shumeet Banerji, founder, Condorcet, LP and former CEO, Booz & Company; Carl Bass, president, CEO and director, Autodesk; Robert R. Bennett, managing director, Hilltop Investments and former president/CEO, Liberty Media Corporation; Charles V. “Chip” Bergh, president/CEO, Levi Strauss & Co.; Stacy Brown-Philpot, COO, TaskRabbit; Stephanie A. Burns, former chairman/CEO, Dow Corning Corporation; Mary Anne Citrino, senior advisor, Blackstone; Rajiv Gupta, former chairman/CEO, Rohm and Haas Company; Stacey Mobley, former senior vice president, chief administrative officer and general dounsel, DuPont; Subra Suresh, president, Carnegie Mellon University; and Dion Weisler, executive vice president, HP.

Banerji, Bennett, Gupta and Whitman currently serve on the board of directors of HP.

“I’m very excited to work with the new board of HP Inc.,” said Weisler. “HP Inc. has tremendous opportunities and having a skilled board with a global perspective is critical to me and my management team, especially as we embark into new markets like 3D printing and immersive computing. The chance to take in the skills of new board members is a great benefit of the separation.” hp.com